Daruma overload! Get to know more about daruma doll here. Our logo is also daruma-inspired.

Daruma doll (a.k.a. Dharma doll) means so much to me since I had it on my skin. It is known for goal setting in Zen Buddhism. The eyes of Daruma are often blank when sold. The recipient of the doll fills in one eye upon setting the goal, then the other upon fulfilling it. In this way, every time they see the one-eyed Daruma, they recall the goal and do their best to accomplish it. I’m not really good at goal setting but this may help in such a clever way.

Materials used:

  • Felt fabrics in red, white, black and yellow.
  • needle and threads (same as the mentioned colors above)
  • polyfiber fill

I made it as a replica of my tat although the details on the eyes were not alike. This took me more or less than an hour in one sitting. Oh, I’d like to take this chance to give credits…

View original post 143 more words

2 thoughts on “

  1. Hi Joycee!

    Your Daruma dolls look so lovely and reminds me to continue on with goal setting on a purposeful life.

    I would like to thank you for the craft package you’ve sent for the Hey Kessy mail swap. Thank you so much. I’m wearing the ring you sent for it fits perfectly. How did you know my ring size? lol

    I was scared and unsure at 1st at seeing the keychain doll. Is it a plushie or a daruma doll on a keychain. Upon seeing the additional keychains without any doll attached . . . i thought you must be wanting me to try a hand to create something to attach to these just like the plushie or doll you’ve sent. How I wish I have the skill to create 1 or 2 of a kind of these craft product. You must have seen the thai gypsy voodoo doll keychain attached to one of my mini albums posted on my blog. Thinking of making the doll/plushie you sent an adornment of a future mini album project – in black and pink mini album color motif. But I have to gather materials of these colors still. But it’s an inspiration for a future project. I just hope I do get to realize it. Otherwise the plushie could be a bag adornment for me.

    Again, thanks so much. And it’s nice to get to know you and a busy bee makes the best honey, as they say, it’s a blessing and don’t regret getting busy with projects and orders coming your way. I hope I get there too also with my craft. We all get to start somewhere, right? You are one of those inspiration for me to continue crafting in this crafting world of ours. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Hello, Ms. Kathleen!

      Sorry it was only now that I could reply to this. I’m really glad you liked my tiny presents. Although I wasn’t sure about the ring haha. The black keychain is called “makurokuroske” in My Neighbor Totoro movie. It looks creepy at first but it’s lovely.

      Good to know that we both inspire each other. Like now, I really want to start my own scrapbook or perhaps I will begin with collage on postcards. We can keep in touch through this blog. Thank you so much. Hope to meet you personally soon.

      x
      Joycee

Leave a Reply

